Rooster day

The smell of very fresh chicken stew simmering on the stove brings some reflection. Today was one of those more solemn days. Every so often I realize that I have more roosters in my flock than is healthy for all the hens. The roosters spend the days racing around jumping on the hens and the dominant rooster a very fine buff Orpington cannot keep up with protecting all the hens so…. I find that I give the selected roosters a proper prayer to the god of roosters. I am still deciding what/who this deity might be. But I have a very large glacial remnant rock on the property that has a very positive earth spirit about it, so it feels proper.  And now I have fresh chicken in the freezer and chicken on the stove. Part of the circle of life.

Leave a Reply

